The Salt Spring National Art Prize Society is delighted to announce the 52 finalists for SSNAP 2023/24 selected by our independent jury following their evaluation of the exciting submissions from across Canada. We thank the artists who submitted 2158 entries reflecting the diversity, creativity, and talent of our diverse community of Canadian artists.

The finalists’ works will be exhibited on Salt Spring Island September 23 to October 23. Prizes will be awarded at the SSNAP Closing Gala and Awards on October 21. Learn more about this year’s awards.

* Southern Gulf Islands artists – please note that Parallel Art Show Finalists will be announced shortly.

“I am very excited with the 52 finalists selected by our esteemed jury for SSNAP 2023/24. While amazingly diverse, the exhibition reflects the post-covid Canada we are all facing today. The artists chosen are exploring their personal and social place, reinventing themselves as artists and reevaluating the role of art in today’s times. I cannot wait to see the actual work.”
– Ronald T. Crawford, Founding Director

SSNAP Exhibition: September 23 to October 23, 2023.
SSNAP Exhibition Opening Night: September 23, 2023
SSNAP Closing Gala and Awards: October 21, 2023
Salt Spring Island, BC

Congratulations to the finalists!

The SSNAP 2023/24 Finalists

Sarah-Mecca Abdourahman – Ottawa, ON
Peter Adams – Collingwood, ON
Greg Allen – North Saanich, BC
Katy Biele – Victoria, BC
Martin Blanchet – St-Emile-de-Suffolk, QC
Jillian Bogan – Saskatoon, SK
Sara-Jeanne Bourget – Vancouver, BC
Michaela Bridgemohan – Kelowna, BC
Nicki Brooks – Toronto, ON
Norman Busse – Guelph, ON
Glenna Cardinal – Tsuut’ina, AB
Rydel Cerezo – Surrey, BC
Anna Binta Diallo – Winnipeg, MB
Samantha Dickie – Victoria, BC
Gerry Dotto – Sherwood Park, AB
Miranda Bellamy & Amanda Fauteux – Sackville, NB
Braxton Garneau – Edmonton, AB
Jennifer Globush – Balmertown, ON
Michael Greer – Dartmouth, NS
Xin He – Richmond Hill, ON
Martin Herbert – Salt Spring Island, BC
Connie Higgs – Perth, ON
Marlene Hilton Moore – Hillsdale, ON
Susan Huber – Salt Spring Island, BC
Shinae Kim – Toronto, ON
Lynn Kodeih – Montréal, QC
Daniel Labutes – Medicine Hat, AB
Cheyenne LeGrande ᑭᒥᐊᐧᐣ – Edmonton, AB
Chris McQuilkin – Richmond, BC
Iryna Merkulova – Montréal, QC
Virginia Morgan – Hazelton, BC
Robert Moss – Salt Spring Island, BC
Agnes Neufeld – Niverville, MB
Maureen O’Connor – Toronto, ON
Annie Pillaktuaq – Gatineau, QC
Deseré Pressey – Calgary, AB
Meghan Price – Montréal, QC
Esther Rausenberg – Vancouver, BC
Laura Rosengren – Chilliwack, BC
Tammy Salzl – Edmonton, AB
David Shepherd – Hamilton, ON
Guntaj Singh – Vancouver, BC
Nicole Sleeth – Carbonear, NL
Douglas Smith – Vancouver, BC
Alicja Swiatlon – Salt Spring Island, BC
Barrie Szekely – Victoria, BC
Francis Tiffany – Vancouver, BC
Brenna Tomas – Sault Ste Marie, ON
Bruce van Slyke – Burnaby, BC
Tlehpik Hjalmer Wenstob – Ty-Histanis (Tofino), BC
April Winter – Mayne Island, BC
Zoey Zoric – Toronto, ON