Diana Thorneycroft

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | JUROR’S CHOICE AWARD – JUROR, DENIS LONGCHAMPS – $2,000 Diana Thorneycroft is a Winnipeg artist who has exhibited various bodies of work across Canada, the United States and Europe, as well as in Moscow, Tokyo and Sydney. She is the recipient of numerous awards including the 2016 Manitoba Arts Award of Distinction, an Assistance to Visual Arts Long-term …


Dave Parsanishi

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | 3RD PRIZE, PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARDS – $1,000 About his work, he says, “I find beauty in everyday things and the patina created by age and wear. This could be in a person, a discarded chunk of metal or something washed up on the shore. Not all things are beautiful, but there is beauty in all things. I’m not …


Peter McFarlane

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | 2ND PRIZE, PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARDS – $2,000 Peter McFarlane has been a professional artist for 25 years and his work is in public and private collections on 3 continents. He relies on obsessively long hours, serendipity and taking risks to uncover his ideas. He works with everyday recycled materials that he manipulates to contour and re-contextualize meaning and …


Katherine MacNeill

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | JUROR’S CHOICE AWARD – JUROR, NAOMI POTTER – $2,000 After an intense and time-consuming career as a Certified Management Accountant, I retired with my husband and Siamese cat to our straw-bale home on a small acreage in the South Okanagan. I joined a local art group in 2015, discovered collage as my medium using paper and other recycled …


Jan Little

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | JUROR’S CHOICE AWARD – JUROR, DAVID GARNEAU – $2,000 Jan Little learned to create life in Emily Carr University’s film animation department, and has carried those tools into her current painting practice. Whether the piece is playful or studious, the focus of her art practice now is learning to be honest, to create something that truly describes her …


Garry Kaye

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | THE ALLIANCE OF SALT SPRING ARTISTS (ASA) AWARD – $1,000 WINNER | PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARD, 1ST PRIZE – $3,000 Garry was born into a large third-generation family on Salt Spring Island. Vast amounts of time spent on the then less-populated island, many years of farming and years spent simply living there have shaped the development of a different …

Judy Anderson

Jane Aitken Finalist 2017

WINNER | THE SALT SPRING PRIZE (JOAN MCCONNELL AWARD) – $12,000 + Salt Spring Island Artists Residency in 2018 to the value of $5,000 Judy Anderson is Cree from the Gordon First Nation, whose practice includes beadwork, installation, hand-made paper, painting, three-dimensional pieces, and collaborative projects. Her work is deeply personal with a focus on issues of spirituality, family, graffiti …